We Love Because He Loved Us First

Those of you who were “feeling the love” this Valentine’s Day raise your hand!

If you were to ask me how this Valentine’s Day went I would probably have to tell you that I was not “feeling the love.” I know Valentine’s Day is over but for some reason this day has just really been suck on my mind and on my heart lately and I just really want to be a little vulnerable with all you about this topic.

Before I get into my story, let me just say that everything that follows is my personal opinion and isn’t right nor wrong and if you don’t agree with me that’s okay… and if you do then that’s great too! 🙂

February 14 and ALL the Feelings

For the single readers out there I know you feel Valentine’s Day is actually just SAD (Single Awareness Day). Others of you feel like Valentine’s Day is just a pointless holiday because why celebrate some relationship once a year when in all reality every day should be a celebration. I know because I have had BOTH of these outlooks on this holiday but the older I get the more I have grown to appreciate the beauty of this day… and here’s why!

I believe that deep down we all have a hopelessly romantic side because I don’t know anyone who doesn’t want to be loved or pursued. This idea of buying expensive gifts, oversized teddy bears or an abundant amount of candy and flowers for your significant other has never really appealed to me. What does appeal to me are these small acts of kind gestures that come with this holiday and I’ll be completely honest, in a world so full of hate I love to see all this LOVE be spread around.

Not “Feeling The Love”

Wednesday, I woke up at 5a and enjoyed a little quiet time with the CREATOR OF LOVE before I had to be at work at 5:45a. So I read…

“Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.” – Hebrews 12:2

At 5a that morning I felt in complete awe that I, Claire Idelle Zaleski, am a child of a God who loves me so much that He sent His one and only Son to die for ME. For MY sins.

However, as the day went on I slowly began to be sucked into the “Hollywood View” of love and Valentine’s Day and I honestly just got wrapped up and left in this self pity.

I felt bad for myself that my boyfriend lived 2.5 hours away from me, at a different university, that we went all day without really even talking to one another. That I spent this day like any other day and by the end of the night I was just jealous and maybe even a little annoyed of all the flower arrangements and balloons and couple pictures that were blowing up my Insta feed and that I didn’t have!

We Love Because He Loved Us First

Valentine’s Day was something I had so much peace and happiness about but I turned it into something so sinful and selfish. I started focusing on what “I” got or what “I” didn’t get. “I” was only worried about how “I” felt in this situation under “my” circumstances. I spent the entire rest of this day forgetting how loved I truly am and missing this day God gave me to just love the people in my life well and show them how appreciated I am of each one of them.

I took the beauty out of Valentine’s Day and maybe I feel so drawn to write this article because I know just how easy it is to get sucked into this “Hollywood” image of love and how things should be and maybe because you did it too.

Before I end this article I want to give you two bullet points on how I plan to battle this constant war that rages within me and fight to “fix my eyes on Jesus” in everything that I do. I know that Valentine’s Day is 363 days away but sadly this issue doesn’t just occur on Valentine’s Day and will apply to everything you do.

Remember:

  1. We love because he first loved us.” 1 John 4:19 just means that true love flows from God and this love is eternal love. This love that flows from you and I is just a reflection of what He has done for us and we don’t deserve it and we didn’t earn it, it’s a love that has just been given to us. Free of charge.
  2. Remembering sanctification is in GOD alone. Isiah 58:11. Day after day we find ourselves desperately seeking for the things that will finally make us happy. Whether it is a new house, car, your significant other, any “something” that will finally meet our expectations. When come to find out that it’s a never-ending thirst and nothing of this world can satisfy it. This reminder is just saying that God, and God alone, is the abundant fountain of good and pure happiness and if you want to experience that joy, seek Him first.

That’s all I have for you loves. I hope you each enjoyed your Valentine’s Day and that you take one nugget from this post and really try to live it out. Reminder there are still 17 days of the Beach Bod Challenge and if you haven’t started again, IT’S NEVER TOO LATE! While talking about love, I decided to include a few pictures of when I last visited Caleb (and his roommate Cade since he made most of the pictures) 3 weekends ago so I hope you enjoy!

If you’d like to follow along with me and my journey, enter you email below. Also feel free to comment with anything special that happened to you on Valentine’s Day or the past weeks because again… I LOVE, love!

God Bless

3 thoughts on “We Love Because He Loved Us First

Leave a comment